Is Oat Milk Considered A Whole Grain
Oats are associated with lower blood cholesterol when consumed regularly. Oat milk is a creamy blend of oats and water that bears resemblance to whole milk all without the lactose or casein that can trigger allergies.
The oat avena sativa sometimes called the common oat is a species of cereal grain grown for its seed which is known by the same name usually in the plural unlike other cereals and pseudocereals while oats are suitable for human consumption as oatmeal and oat milk one of the most common uses is as livestock feed.
Is oat milk considered a whole grain. Purcell mountain farms scottish oats. I it should be neither hydrolyzed nor adsorbed in the upper part of the gastrointestinal. Research regarding the importance of prebiotic formulations and their health effects has focused on how cereal materials such as whole grains barley husks rye bran oat milk fiber residues and arabinoxylan fibers can improve metabolic functions berger et al 2014.
Nowadays it is generally accepted that a prebiotic should possess four main features. Damen et al 2011. Because oat bran is just the bran and doesn t contain the germ or the endosperm it is not considered a whole grain.
Oat milk has a creamy texture and oatmeal like flavor and is manufactured in various flavors such as sweetened unsweetened vanilla or chocolate. Oat milk is even safe generally for people who have a gluten intolerance. While oats are gluten free in nature they re often processed on the same equipment as gluten containing grains.
Avoid it if you follow a ketogenic diet or want to heal your gut and watch for added sugar or canola oil that can make you foggy and fatigued. From wikipedia the free encyclopedia oat milk is a plant milk derived from whole oat avena spp grains by extracting the plant material with water. This plant milk may not work for everyone.
Grain millers raw oats oat groats rolled oats quick instant oats oat flour. If you have a gluten sensitivity or celiac disease you ll want to be sure it was made with certified gluten free oats says jones. Whole grains council steel cut oats.
You just must read labels. Connolly et al 2012. To learn more about what counts as a whole grain see this webpage.